23things, posters, presentations, research, Uncategorized

More Things for research: Wikipedia, images, presentations and podcasts

Wiki-t-shirt-edia?
Wiki-t-shirt-edia?

Struggling a bit to keep up with the stream of Things right now! Um, so a quick catch up.

Thing 10 is exploring images online https://23thingssurrey.wordpress.com/2014/10/14/thing10images/
I already use Flickr for posters, this blog and other stuff. Pinterest and Instagram are two social media too far for me! Flickr is very, very useful for finding creative commons images for using for research though. If you can’t find a suitable image then you can always make your own (see my blog on making my first poster https://katyleighkennedy.wordpress.com/2014/04/06/what-i-learnt-about-making-a-conference-poster/). I just went to an extremely useful Surrey RDP workshop on making posters (highly recommended if you are a Surrey postgrad) and some people there were struggling to work out how to use visuals on their posters, or rather how to create suitable ones. Flickr is a very handy resource for this, but the workshop also highlighted a lot of creative ways of using images and graphics which weren’t photos, so it’s worth doing a bit of lateral thinking about how to use these when visual stuff is needed. My stick art illustrations certainly won’t cut the mustard!

Thing 11 is Wikipedia.I do often use Wikipedia as a launching pad for things I don’t know much about, and I’ve found the references lists convenient for finding more information beyond the Wikipedia page. I went and checked out the exercise psychology page, and THERE ISN’T ONE! There is only a page on sports psychology which, dear readers is not the same thing at all…Scandalous! There is a very interesting argument in a great textbook I bought recently http://www.amazon.co.uk/Psychology-Physical-Activity-Determinants-Interventions/dp/0415518180/ref=dp_ob_title_bk) that really ‘sports psychology’ should be renamed ‘sports performance psychology’, and ‘exercise psychology’ should be renamed ‘physical activity psychology’, which I entirely agree with. There is certainly some overlap, but physical activity encompasses so much more than sport, and sports psychology does tend to focus more on elite performance rather than us mere mortals. Anyway, enough wittering. There is a real gap in the Wikipedia coverage of this research area, which is interesting. If ever I find myself with a spare 5 minutes perhaps I will write something for it (Ed: you know that spare 5 minutes is never going to happen, right?)

Thing 12 is Finding Presentations and Podcasts https://23thingssurrey.wordpress.com/2014/10/15/thing12finding/
I am obsessed with podcasts, so this wasn’t anything new to me. My ipod is full of podcasts, on every subject under the sun, and I listen to them when doing housework, gardening, running, walking, going to sleep…I love learning new things and listening to podcasts is a really time-efficient way of doing so. Strangely enough for a subject like psychology which is popular and easily accessible to a wide audience, there aren’t that many podcasts on the subject! A great new one is Invisibilia, which is a bit American (NPR has its own unique style, quite Marmite-y), All in the Mind (BBC and ABC versions), and the Brain Science Podcast, but other than those you need to search quite hard for podcasts which could be categorised as psychology. There are lots of podcasts which feature psychological content though, such as many of the TED talks. I also listen to lots of running podcasts (runners love podcasting!) and encounter useful ideas for my research in this way. An excellent podcast which is very relevant to academia is iProcrastinate, which is done by a Canadian academic whose research area is procrastination. If anyone is suffering from procrastination (that’s everyone doing a PhD, right?) then I can highly recommend this podcast, it’s evidence-based and extremely interesting. Finding presentations isn’t something I tend to do, but googling a very specific subject will sometimes bring up some handy stuff on Slideshare. I’ve even found some details on methodology which I needed from one study which wasn’t available in the full paper, so it’s always worth hunting further if you get stuck on some detail like that. It can also be useful for having a peek at what researchers you’re interested in are doing, if they put that kind of stuff up on the internet.

Image from Flickr CC 2.0, thanks to https://www.flickr.com/photos/mikeeperez/

One thought on “More Things for research: Wikipedia, images, presentations and podcasts

Leave a Reply

