posters, presentations, research, Uncategorized

Reflections on a poster

Sooooo, protracted hiatus from bloggery whilst life has been ultra-busy. I attended a conference in Edinburgh, the International Society of Behavioural Nutrition and Physical Activity (just rolls off the tongue, no?) I had a brilliant time at this conference: the talks were almost all fascinating, I attended a great workshop on intervention design, I didn’t even get to see all the posters I wanted to see, and I made a couple of lovely new friends and met some great people. I didn’t want it to end!

The ostensible reason I was there was to present my poster. This was an abject failure, but this wasn’t due to the poster itself. I spent weeks working on it and tweaking it. I’m quite pleased with it, but having seen a bunch of excellent posters (there were over 800 at the conference in total), I can see that having scaled the size up from A1 to A0 means I should have scaled down the word count. It’s a bit tricky, as qualitative work is inherently wordy! Still, I reckon I needed to simplify again and again until it was capable of being skimmed in 40 seconds flat with lots of people talking loudly in the vicinity. Maybe cartoon posters are the way forward… Anyway, the reason it was an abject failure wasn’t due to my poster, it was due to its location! The poster boards were concertinaed at right angles to each other, and the (very lovely) person sharing my corner had this really interactive poster with a game on it, and she was part of a busy research group who all wanted to come and say hello, and people crowded round her poster to play the game. This meant that people couldn’t even see my poster, even if they wanted to *sob sob*. I’m not quite sure what I could have done about this, except grit my teeth and stand there like a lemon 🙂

But: having a blog means my poster can live beyond the conference, so here it is! It’s some very preliminary qualitative findings on my Running Commentary study. I’m quite excited about this work, as I can see some useful real-life applications for improving how people feel during exercise just from this single theme alone.

I also gave a talk about this work and the wider study as part of our Running Dialogues seminar series which seemed to go OK, it was quite funny as the previous speaker, Hayden Lorimer, gave the most beautiful, lyrical talk just before me, and then you could almost hear the cogs crashing as the audience (and I) had to adjust to the prosaic nature of my study and the realities of operationalising psychological variables!

Anyway, here’s my poster, all comments welcome, click on it to expand Edited: no don’t! I appear to be a total WordPress numpty and it doesn’t work… See here for a link to the PDF version (please let that one work!)

Feel lucky that you don’t have to read it in a crowded conference hall through a sea of people with a crowd playing a noisy game next to you!

Qualitative anticipation of the end poster

2 thoughts on “Reflections on a poster

Leave a Reply

