23things, research, Uncategorized, writing

WordPress ate my homework…

Honestly, I could cry! I put loads and loads of time into a blog for Things 7, 8 and 9 (I was on holiday too), pressed save whenever possible, and when I opened the draft version this morning, WordPress has LOST two thirds of it. In future I will have to either write the thing in Scrivener or copy and paste as I go. But WordPress: your save function properly sucks!

*shakes tiny fist at WordPress*

*sighs*

So here are the edited highlights:

wine-468181_1920

Journal chosen: Psychology of Sport and Exercise

Structure imposed by the journal: very flexible, ditto length, so I’m going for about 10 pages

I looked at 3 papers for their structure and chose this one as having a really great structure which makes the most of qualitative research and doesn’t squeeze everything into the boxes you have to use for quantitative research:

“Coveting Thy Neighbour’s Legs”: A Qualitative Study of Exercisers’ Experiences of Intrinsic and Extrinsic Goal Pursuit
(Sebire, Standage, Gillison, and Vansteenkiste, 2013)

Then some stuff about Hitchhiker’s Guide and towels:

towel-671096_1920

It made sense in the version which didn’t get saved…

Then some silly questions from potential readers, which I answered a bit sarcastically. But I have a good idea of what I need to do in each bit, I just can’t be bothered writing it all out again.  I have a structure which I like (though the headings in the intro and discussion will be idiosyncratic to my study), and a rough idea of what I’m going to say and where.

I’m going to hit Publish quickly, before stupid WordPress gets hungry again…

 

7 thoughts on “WordPress ate my homework…

  1. Sorry your work was lost, I hate when that happens. I enjoyed your abridged summary. The pictures and the focus on journals that make space for qualitative research. Those are my favourite kind of journals. Lovely pictures, too. Make me long for a holiday. Keep up the hard work and don’t despair, it happens to us all! (Rather WordPress that PhD!) :S

  2. A likely story!
    As long as the plan is in your head we don’t need proof. Good luck and keep saving the real article, that matters more. Although it will be hard to beat a photo of a towel swan.

    1. Sadly, I can’t claim ownership of the swan 😦 I think the swan was supposed to illustrate something about qualitative methods, it made sense at the time before I lost several hundred words into the internet!

Leave a Reply

