23things, research, Uncategorized, writing

Thing 10, Begin Again

img_1481

Well, sorry to the 23 Things cohort for going off radar for a while there: I was travelling in Europe for a couple of weeks and a lot of the time I had NO internet access. Yes, such a thing is possible, who knew? In Germany my phone pretty much had no signal good enough for data, and the campsite we were staying in didn’t have wifi. It was quite blissful actually 🙂

My younger son and I had the BEST road trip: we drove to Luxembourg and stayed a few days there (it’s lovely, we want to go back), then we drove to the Moselle valley and stayed there before driving ALLLLLLL the way across France (it’s a big place!), picking up my husband and older son and spending 4 days in Cahors, 2 in Le Mans and then back home. The photo above is of the Moselle valley. Beautiful! It was a fantastic way to spend the dregs of summer: we walked and did a few touristy things, watched the rivers go past (all 3 of them!), I made pancakes for my son and I, I tasted and bought wine, I ran up lots of hills and along rivers, we hired bikes and pedalled along the river, we read a bit, I did some stats and a bit of other PhD stuff, we watched Tom and Jerry DVDs, we swam in the cold pool in hot Cahors, and I slept loads. I really love camping, I would happily live outdoors if we didn’t have this pesky thing called winter!

And now it’s back to school and uni and all that shizzle…

*sound of gears crunching as brain tries to re-engage*

I really have no idea where I’m up to with the 23 things. According to my last blog, I should be on Thing 10. I looked at the blog and saw lots of stuff about grammar and got some nasty flashbacks to my son’s SATS homework last year…

(Son: it’s really quite simple mum, I don’t understand why you don’t understand how to spot a nominal clause

Me: *sticks fingers in ears* Lalalala, can’t hear you, can you please stop torturing me?

Son: it’s when…

Me: I can’t hear you, I’ve got a fish in my ear!)

So yes, I’m struggling a bit with Thing 10. Sentences are Not Fun. So I’ll try to simplify it a bit for my simple brain by copying the relevant bits:

‘Simple sentence

This type of sentence is not necessarily short; it is simple because it contains just one complete idea.

Compound sentence

In contrast to a simple sentence, a compound sentence includes more than one complete idea. It can contain two or more complete ideas that are linked with words such as and, but, or, for, yet, so.

Complex sentence

Like a compound sentence, a complex sentence also contains more than one idea. However, it will have at least one dependent clause as well as an independent clause.’

I was fine until that last bit…

‘See how much fun sentences can be!’

Er, no. *sticks fingers in ears*

However, I think I get the gist of the rest of it: if you want to draw attention to one idea of several in a complicated sentence, then you need to make that a sentence which could stand alone. The other idea(s) in the sentence which are just sentence ‘snippets’ then take a back seat. Phew! I just about get the usefulness of that. It’s probably something I do anyway without realising…

Now, what am I supposed to be doing again?

Writing for this Thing
Use different sentence structures (simple, compound and complex) to write a brief introduction to your specific research topic, and post it on your blog. Your introduction should include three paragraphs: a paragraph on the general research context/background; a paragraph establishing the gap in the field; and a paragraph explaining what you wish to research and how it will help to fill the gap.’

OK, let’s do this! You’ll have to excuse any sloppiness, I’m trying to squeeze this blog out in between data analyses, so I’m not editing…

 

Affective responses to exercise predict future exercise behaviour. The better people feel during exercise, the more likely they are to continue (Rhodes and Kates, 2015). Given this, how can we help people to feel better during exercise?

 Qualitative research on affective responses to exercise is scarce, yet more is needed to understand what factors are influential, and how these can be altered to improve affective responses to exercise. Knowing quantitatively how people are feeling does not tell us anything about the context of these feelings, or pinpoint areas for improvement. Qualitative research on affect during exercise is even more scarce. Rose and Parfitt (2010) provide a rare exception: they asked high and low active women to talk aloud during a laboratory exercise bout about how they were feeling, and why they were feeling that way. Some of the themes they found have obvious practical applications, such as directing attentional focus during exercise to reduce discomfort, or interpreting physiological information positively rather than negatively.

Most research on affect during exercise is lab-based. There is evidence, however, that affective responses to exercise in laboratories differ from those in everyday environments (Dasilva et al., 2011). This makes intuitive sense — running on a treadmill is a very different experience from running alongside a river — but there is no qualitative research on affective responses to exercise in such everyday environments. This study aimed to fill this gap.

Not perfect, but it’ll have to do. SPSS is calling me! And I’m *gulp* about a gazillion Things behind already. I’ll leave you with another photo: this is of some of the vineyards in the Moselle. They are planted on very steep slopes. Like, scary steep! I figure harvesting these grapes must be like doing a PhD: never look down, don’t look ahead too far. Focus on one bunch of grapes at a time!

img_1450

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

